Data Source Page Overview

Below you can find a description of the fields, buttons, and settings of the data source creating page.

 

General Settings

 

  • Name* - This field allows you to enter the name of your data source. The field is required.

  • Description - This field allows you to enter a description for your data source. These might be some hints you might need in the future. This field is optional.

 

Share Settings

 

These settings allow you to share your data source with users or groups who have permission to use Tableau Connector.

  • Users - This setting allows you to share your data source with other users. You can select as many individual users as you need to. The user can be searched by login or full email.

  • Groups - This setting allows you to share your data source with groups. You can select as many groups as you want to.

Other users who have access to Tableau Connector for Jira app might not get all data from this data source due to different Jira permissions.

 

Search and View Settings

 

Search Section

 

The Search box - This box allows you to quickly find, and then add to your export issue filters you need.

The amount of found issue filters will be shown on each tab you have.

View Settings new

 

View Settings - This feature allows you to adjust table visibility, table sorting, and field details.

 

  • Table visibility - This feature allows you to expand or collapse all tables at once by selecting Expand all or Collapse all respectively.

 

  • Table sorting - This feature allows you to sort tables in a way convenient for you. There are two options: Default and Selected first.

    • Default - The tables are arranged in a default way.

    • Selected first - The tables are arranged so that the already selected tables appear first on the page.

 

  • Field details - This setting allows you to adjust the appearance of the issues. You can select what option to display: Show IDs or Show Types. The Show Names option is a default. All options can be selected at once.

The screenshot presents how the options are displayed in the UI, using matching colors.

 

Select Tables Section

 

These settings allow you to select or cancel selecting Jira standard tables and fields (Jira Work Management, Jira Software, Jira Service Management) and also tables and fields of different plug-ins installed on your Jira Cloud instance (e.g. Xray, Projectrak, Tempo, and more)

 

Save and Preview Section

 

After creating and editing your data source, you can select one of the following options what to do with it.

  • Save - This option creates your new data source or updates if you edit an existing data source.

  • Preview -This option allows you to check the source name, source description, issue filters, and export items.

  • Preview ERD - This option allows you to view the Entity Relationship Diagram for your Connector support data source, which is generated based on the checkboxes you have selected before.

This screenshot displays how the Preview button works. Once you select it, the pop-up window will appear with the view of your data source, so you can check if all changes are correct.

 

Additional Features

 

All these settings are applied to already existing data sources.

  • Copy URL - This button copies the data source URL to the clipboard.

 

The Actions (three dots) panel introduces you different actions:

  • Edit - This button allows you to make changes to the data source.

  • Delete - This button allows you to remove the data source.

  • Share - This button allows you to distribute the data source to users who have permission to use this app.

  • Archive - This button allows you to mark the data source as archived, data source will be moved to the Archived tab.

  • Clone - This button allows you to make a copy of the data source.

  • Preview ERD - This button allows you to view the Entity Relationship Diagram for a data source.