Administrator Guide

You can adjust SQL Connector for Jira settings on a single page. The instructions below will guide you in locating the app settings page and provide an overview of all available configuration options.

Platform administrators always can view, modify, delete, and edit the share settings of any existing connectors in an instance.

 

How to Get to The Settings Page

 

There are 2 options for how to get to the application settings page. Feel free to use the one that is more convenient for you.

 

Option 1

  • Being signed in to your Jira instance, select SQL Connector, and then select Administration.

 

The SQL Connector for Jira Settings page will appear.

 

Option 2

  1. Being signed in to your Jira instance, select , and then select Manage apps.

 

  1. Scroll down, look for SQL CONNECTOR FOR JIRA, and then select Plugin settings.

 

The SQL Connector for Jira Settings page will appear.

Settings Page Overview

 

SQL Connector for Jira Settings page includes the following settings:

  • Permission Settings

  • General Settings

  • App Logging Settings

  • Export Logging Settings

  • Custom Fields Map

The page also has the Reset to defaults button.

 

Reset to Defaults

 

Reset to defaults - This action will restore all app settings, delete all data sources and their settings, and delete all users permissions.

Once you select this button, the Reset to defaults pop-up window will appear.

  • Select Reset, if you do want to reset all settings and delete data sources.

  • Select Cancel, if you no longer want to do it.

 

Permission Settings

 

Here Jira administrators can grant permissions to users to create, edit, view, and export connectors.

 

  1. In the Users field, enter the username you want to grant permissions to.

Once you start typing, the drop-down list with username suggestions will appear. Select the user from the list.

Changes will be saved automatically.

 

  1. In the Groups field, enter the group name you want to grant permissions to.

Once you start typing, the drop-down list with available groups will appear. Select a group from the list.

Changes will be saved automatically.

 

  1. In the Project Roles field, enter the role(s) you want to grant permissions to.

Once you start typing, the drop-down list with the project roles you have inside your project will appear. Select roles from the list.

Changes will be saved automatically.

 

  1. Select the Edit icon, if you want to make changes.

  2. Select the Clear button, if you want to delete permissions.

Selecting the Clear button, you will erase information from all fields: Users, Groups, and Project Roles.

 

General Settings

 

The General Settings help to:

  • prevent misuse of the app

  • alleviate the significant strain on Jira

  • improve time to export

 

  • Issues Limit - This setting allows you to set a maximum number of tickets that can be exported at the instance level.

  • Fields Threshold - This setting allows you to set a maximum number of fields that can be exported without a warning message.

All changes will be saved automatically.

 

App Logging Settings

 

  • App debug mode records all events related to the data source, with the exception of data export, but including creating, editing, cloning, changing owner, etc. It is useful for troubleshooting problems or investigating incidents.

It’s recommended to keep the App debug mode turned on.

Here you can also set up the maximum size of your log file.

For example, you set a maximum of size 50 MB, once the log file reaches this limit, the older log events will be automatically deleted and the log recreated from scratch.

 

  • Actual Log File Size - This field displays the current size of the log file.

  • The Refresh icon - This option allows you to refresh logs.

  • The Clear icon - This option allows you to manually delete logs.

  • Download Zip - This option allows you to download your log file in a compressed zip format.

  • Download Log - This option allows you to download your log file in its original format.

 

Export Logging Settings

 

Data Export debug mode records events related to data export.

It’s recommended to keep Data Export debug mode turned off as it can impact your instance performance.

Here you can also set up the maximum size of your log file.

 

  • Actual Log File Size - This field displays the current size of the log file.

  • The Refresh icon - This option allows you to refresh logs.

  • The Clear icon - This option allows you to manually delete logs.

  • Download Zip - This option allows you to download your log file in a compressed zip format.

  • Download Log - This option allows you to download your log file in its original format.

 

How to Use Data Export Debug Mode

 

To minimize the impact of the data export debug mode on your instance, please follow the instructions on its usage.

  1. Create a data source with the selected table you’re experiencing an issue with.

Filter the data by selecting the project you’re experiencing issues with. Select only those tables and fields you need to be troubleshooted.
If you need detailed information on how to do it, please refer to our step-by-step instruction.

  1. Go back to Export Logging Settings, and then clear the previous logs, if there are any.

  2. Set the size limit of the log file, and then enable Data Export debug mode.

  3. Start exporting your data.

If you need instruction on how to export your data source, please refer to our step-by-step instruction.

  1. After data export is completed, open Export Logging Settings, disable Data Export debug mode, and then download the log file.

 

At the moment, the output of the following tables is being logged:

Jira Core

Jira Software

Service Management

Tempo

Insight

Xray

Tempo Budgets

Jira Core

Jira Software

Service Management

Tempo

Insight

Xray

Tempo Budgets

  • Issues (Issues, Issue Effort, Parent Issues, Epics)

  • Issue Links

  • Issue Custom Fields (Issues or custom table)

  • History (Histories, Time in Statuses, Time at Assignee)

  • Projects

  • Sprints

  • Sprint Issues

  • Boards

  • Board Charts

  • Sprint Report Charts

  • Burndown Charts

  • Board Issues

  • Approvers

  • Customer Request Type

  • Request Participants

  • Customer Request Type

  • Request Participants

  • Another Service Management Fields (Issues)

  • Tempo (Issues)

  • Teams

  • Object Schema

  • Object

  • Object Type

  • Object Type Attribute

  • Status Type

  • Role

  • Insight Attribute Value

  • Test Runs

  • Folios

  • Expenses

  • Human Resources

  • Rates

  • Allocations

Custom Fields Map

Select Custom Field defined as Story Points in your system. Click Save.

 

Find out what is the best BI tool for Jira reporting in our blog

https://www.alphaservesp.com/blog/choosing-the-best-bi-tool-for-your-jira-reporting-comprehensive-comparison